Skip to main content

annoyed and overwhelmed.

I got up this morning, and started on my daily chores.

I walked into the bathroom to find that the kid clothes, and kodys work clothes were thrown all over the bathroom floor, and not in the hamper where they belong, there was toothpaste caked on the sink, a wet pull up sitting in the floor.  I rolled my eyes, groaned, cleaned it up, and went downstairs to start the laundry.
I came back upstairs to find the pop can kody poured into a cup last night at dinner, and left on the counter for me to pick up. I huffed "am I the ONLY one who knows we have a trash can?!" and threw it away, and loaded the dishwasher. I went to the bedroom to find kodys pajamas thrown on the babys seat (does the man know what a hamper is for!?)  I went to the living room to find toys and snack wrappers on the couch, after I know I asked them to clean it before bed last night.
I began to get irritated. Why do I feel like the only one who can clean up after themselves around here? The more I cleaned the angrier I got.
  I closed my eyes and started to pray. I prayed for them to learn to help around the house. I prayed for me to become more energized to keep up with the messes. I prayed for patience. I prayed for forgiveness for being angry, and I prayed for a calm mind.
When I opened my eyes, all I felt was gratitude. I am so grateful that I have the 3 boys that make all these messes for me to clean. I know if anything were to happen to them, I would give anything to have toys to pick up. Thankful for a man who goes to work each morning, if I didn't have him, I'd sure miss picking up his pajamas off the baby seat every day. grateful for a house to clean. Grateful for my life, and the little mess makers, and my big mess maker.

I guess what im saying is, even though I get annoyed by having to clean up after everyone, I am grateful for having them to clean up after.

I certainly do love my guys. <3

until next time,
Elizabeth

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

New things

My first baby is going to kindergarten in a week. My sweet innocent baby boy starting his first adventure without me in the midst of a global pandemic.  Next week I will drop him off in front of his school and leave him all alone with his classmates and teachers. Next week I will trust that he is being loved and cared for by a woman I don’t know. Next week I will trust that I will see my sweet smiling boy walk out of his new school with a look of accomplishment and relief as he runs in to my arms at exactly 2:19. The beginning will be tough, he will cry. I will cry. I’ll count the minutes until I can wrap my arms around him again.  He is ready. He loves his Minecraft backpack, lunchbox, water bottle combo.  He talks about the friends he will meet and the things he will play with.  My mind runs constantly trying to remember to do all the things to try to prepare him for the big day. Will he be afraid? He won’t have my hand to hold if he is.  Will he remember to u...

You're gonna be fine

Was it when they said you were transverse breech? Was it when I heard the doctor ask for the vacuum assist as you were being delivered? Was it when you started projectile vomiting every feed? Was it when you weighed an ounce less at one month than you did at birth? Was it when you had the ultrasound for pyloric stenosis and it was positive? Was it when they took you out of my arms to do surgery on you at 4 weeks old? Was it when the surgeon said "I made a mistake"? Was it when the radiologist said you weren't ready to eat after it had already been 4 days?  Was it when you were discharged, but still vomiting? Was it when I took you for a weight check and they sent you back to the hospital? Was it when they said the words 'failure to thrive'? Was it when you were still losing weight? Was it when you were diagnosed with severe reflux? Was it when you started to gain some grams slowly? Was it when you couldn't climb over the 1st percentile for weight? Was it when ...

3 months of being a mom to a high needs baby pt.1

  When I gave birth to my 3rd child, I thought for sure he would be the easiest of all.I know what im doing by now, after all. I WAS WRONG Christian is a high needs baby, a high risk baby. but what does that mean? He doesn't sleep? no, he actually only wakes up once during the night to eat, and be changed. He cries a lot? no, he's very friendly. full of smiles most of the time. Christian was born with a birth defect called pyloric stenosis. This means the muscle between his stomach and small intestine was enlarged, and not allowing food to pass through. He spit up almost the entire bottle every single time we fed him, but the first week of his life gained 9 oz, making him 7lb 11 oz.  so we had no clue he was abnormal. At 2 weeks I wasn't able to sleep because each time I fed him he would projectile vomit across the house, I was terrified he would choke on it. I called the pediatrician at 2 weeks and they said this was normal. I broke down in tears talking to tha...